top of page

What Our Participants think of HOW

Melat Zewdie, 28, describes herself as a dreamer. People, including myself, can tell why she says so. Zewdie’s favorite hobby is traveling. She loves to immerse herself in different cultures and soaking it all in herself to enrich her identity with various colors, tastes, and scents. Despite characterizing herself as a dreamer, Zewdie is also a hard worker as she graduated from University of California San Diego and has worked as a physician assistant. 10 years ago, Zewdie encountered yoga for the first time. She realized that it resonated in her and gave peace in the midst of the harsh realities of her life. As a result, Zewdie finds herself in a state of peace and calmness that allows her to continue to grow and dream.

Interview with Melat

Describe your experience HOW. How has it positively impacted you? Melat: I used to live in San Diego. When I started attending classes at HOW, I felt like I belonged to a community at HOW. It was great to find an accessible location. There are variety of teachers, different classes, and the teachers have different styles so you get to find what fits you the best. What’s your favorite part about HOW? Melat: What I enjoyed is seeing the same people. Seeing the same teachers and also seeing the same people coming to classes was great. It’s nice that it is intimate and it’s easy to get to know people. Some of my yoga classes may be larger but the instructors are very easy to talk to after class to explain things. What was your reaction when you realized that health can be improved through non-treatment services that heal one world offers? Melat: I went to school and I’m in the healthcare field. HOW aligns with my belief that preventative care can be the best type of treatment to everyone. I was excited that Heal One World offer these type of services. Preventative care is about optimizing health and being able to control your health by having healthy habits. How do you think you have changed since the first time you started going to heal one world? Melat: Physically, I feel stronger. I’ve done yoga before in different intervals, but I’ve done it more consistently at HOW. That consistency has helped me to be stronger. Emotionally, I feel stress relieved when I do yoga. I can kind of separate what’s going on in the world when I’m in class. Mentally, my mentality has been stronger and I’m not affected by my circumstances that much because it has been easier for me to just let things go and have a positive outlook on life. Why would you recommend heal one world? Melat: I think everybody who teaches at HOW genuinely wants to help people. For example, the instructors are giving their time and knowledge to people. Everybody believes in the cause to help others.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page